Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Unfortunately following government guidelines the NHS Health Checks have been postponed until further notice.

We are posting daily top tips to help you maintain and improve your cardiovascular health. See all of our daily blogs at the bottom of this page. Follow the below links for Healthy Lifestyle Top Tips, updates and advice.

Facebook page – NHS Health Checks Doncaster and Barnsley

Instagram @nhshealthchecks

Twitter @checknhs .

Stay alert:

We can all help control the virus if we all stay alert. This means you must:

Refer back to gov.uk for further advice and guidance.

The government have released Mental Health Guidance for this current time please click here for further details.

COVID-19 is a new illness that can affect your lungs and airways. It’s caused by a virus called coronavirus. Currently in the UK schools and childcare are now only open to children of key workers. Pubs, clubs, restaurants and places of leisure have closed. However, food shops and pharmacies remain open.

Do not leave home if you or anyone in your household has symptoms.

If you have the symptoms as follows:

Social distancing from friends and vulnerable ones can help the virus from spreading. Simple measures like washing your hands often with soap and water can help stop viruses like coronavirus (COVID-19) spreading.

Currently there is no vaccine to prevent coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). The best way to prevent illness is to avoid being exposed to the virus. The virus is spread mainly from person to person between people who are in close contact with one another (within about 6 feet). It is spread through respiratory droplets produced when an infected person coughs or sneezes, these droplets can land in the mouths or noses of people who are nearby or possibly inhaled into the lungs.

Image result for coronavirus poster wash hands

Daily top tips to help you maintain and improve your cardiovascular health

Thursday 23 April 2020

Strengthening Exercises and Why They Are Important

Wednesday 22 April 2020

Activities to do at home!

Tuesday 21 April 2020

Why you need your 5 a day!

Monday 20 April 2020

Diabetes

Friday 17 April 2020

All about the NHS Health Check!

Thursday 16 April 2020

What is blood pressure and why it is important for your health

Wednesday 15 April 2020

Cholesterol

Tuesday 14 April 2020

Understanding the importance of fats for your cardiovascular health

Thursday 9 April 2020

How to Keep in Contact During the Coronavirus Pandemic

Wednesday 8 April 2020

Dealing with Pets During COVID-19

Tuesday 7 April 2020

Healthy Snacks for kids

Monday 6 April 2020

How to differentiate between the week and weekend during Covid-19

Friday 3 April 2020

How to keep your clothes and your home clean during COVID-19

Thursday 2 April 2020

Keeping well during COVID-19

Wednesday 1 April 2020

Working from home during COVID-19

Tuesday 31 March 2020

How to cope with stress during the covid-19 pandemic

Monday 30 March 2020

Home schooling during COVID-19

Friday 27 March 2020

How alcohol affects your cardiovascular health and how to get support during the covid – 19 pandemic

Thursday 26 March 2020

How activity can be beneficial for your cardiovascular health during the covid – 19 pandemic

Wednesday 25 March 2020

The importance of stopping smoking and support during COVID-19

Tuesday 24 March 2020

How a Healthy diet helps to look after your Cardiovascular Health especially during COVID-19