Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Unfortunately following government guidelines the NHS Health Checks have been postponed until further notice.

We are posting daily top tips to help you maintain and improve your cardiovascular health. See all of our daily blogs at the bottom of this page. Follow the below links for Healthy Lifestyle Top Tips, updates and advice.

Facebook page – NHS Health Checks Doncaster and Barnsley

Instagram @nhshealthchecks

Twitter @checknhs .

NHS Test and Trace App

If you have a smartphone, then download the government’s contact-tracing app. Here are some facts about the app:

Stay alert:

We can all help control the virus if we all stay alert. This means you must:

Refer back to gov.uk for further advice and guidance.

The government have released Mental Health Guidance for this current time please click here for further details.

COVID-19 is a new illness that can affect your lungs and airways. It’s caused by a virus called coronavirus. Currently in the UK schools and childcare are now only open to children of key workers. Pubs, clubs, restaurants and places of leisure have closed. However, food shops and pharmacies remain open.

Do not leave home if you or anyone in your household has symptoms.

If you have the symptoms as follows:

Social distancing from friends and vulnerable ones can help the virus from spreading. Simple measures like washing your hands often with soap and water can help stop viruses like coronavirus (COVID-19) spreading.

Currently there is no vaccine to prevent coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). The best way to prevent illness is to avoid being exposed to the virus. The virus is spread mainly from person to person between people who are in close contact with one another (within about 6 feet). It is spread through respiratory droplets produced when an infected person coughs or sneezes, these droplets can land in the mouths or noses of people who are nearby or possibly inhaled into the lungs.

Image result for coronavirus poster wash hands

Daily top tips to help you maintain and improve your cardiovascular health

Friday 30 October 2020

Look After Each Other

Thursday 29 October 2020

10 coaching questions to stay motivated and achieve your goals

Wednesday 28 October 2020

How to Stay Sharp Later in Life

Tuesday 27 October 2020

Signs and Symptoms of Cancer

Monday 26 October 2020

Podcast Ideas

Friday 23 October 2020

10 tips to beat insomnia

Thursday 22 October 2020

How to Cut Down on Alcohol at Home

Wednesday 21 October 2020

What local COVID alert levels mean

Tuesday 20 October 2020

Loneliness in Older People

Monday 19 October 2020

Diabetes

Thursday 15 October 2020

How Work Can Affect Your Mental Health

Wednesday 14 October 2020

Coronary Heart Disease

Tuesday 13 October 2020

Flu Vaccine

Monday 12 October 2020

How Alcohol Affects Your Mental Health

Friday 9 October 2020

Dementia

Thursday 8 October 2020

Keeping your kidneys healthy

Wednesday 7 October 2020

100 Calorie Snacks

Tuesday 6 October 2020

How to prevent germs from spreading

Monday 5 October 2020

How to Keep Active in Autumn

Friday 2 October 2020

How to stay well in winter

Thursday 1 October 2020

Blood Pressure

Wednesday 30 September 2020

Top Sources of Added Sugar

Tuesday 29 September 2020

5 ways to wipe out winter tiredness

Monday 28 September 2020

Tips to Eat Well for Less

Friday 25 September 2020

Recent Covid-19 Updates

Thursday 24 September 2020

Cholesterol

Wednesday 23 September 2020

Healthy Breakfast Ideas

Tuesday 22 September 2020

5 a Day Tips

Monday 21 September 2020

Starchy Foods

Friday 18 September 2020

Food and Drink Swaps

Thursday 17 September 2020

Facts About Fat

Wednesday 16 September 2020

What is HIIT?

Tuesday 15 September 2020

How to have healthy lungs in time for winter

Monday 14 September 2020

Vitamin A

Friday 11 September 2020

How to eat less saturated fat

Thursday 10 September 2020

Healthy Recipes

Wednesday 9 September 2020

Why You Should Warm Up and Cool Down

Tuesday 8 September 2020

Sleep Tool Kit

Monday 7 September 2020

How Alcohol Affects Your Body

Friday 4 September 2020

Sitting Exercises

Thursday 3 September 2020

How Smoking Affects Your Skin

Wednesday 2 September 2020

Tips for a lower salt diet

Tuesday 1 September 2020

Get Moving For Mental Health

Friday 28 August 2020

5 Lifestyle Tips for a Healthy Tummy

Thursday 27 August 2020

Improving Low Mood

Wednesday 26 August 2020

Vegan Snack Ideas

Tuesday 25 August 2020

Alcohol Support

Monday 24 August 2020

Circuit Training

Friday 21 August 2020

Iron

Thursday 20 August 2020

Tips for coping with depression